In Memory of Formatting Heliosense/Patrick Millard

It is  with a very heavy heart and much sadness to write of our dear friend Formatting Heliosense/Patrick Millard sudden passing over the weekend. Words cannot express how much we will miss him. We were very lucky to have Formatting in our lives for the time we did and I will cherish all of the memories. I wanted to share a part of the essay he wrote for the 2nd volume of the 1000 Avatars project.

Photography began with the portrait – a way to immortalize the self, to live beyond the inevitable, to sidestep death, to reappear again in the generations that follow.  The reasons were plentiful, but the fact of the matter has always been that an individual could leave behind a piece of themselves, of their personality, for those who later looked upon that image to find a connection – no matter the distance of time and space between what the French theorist and semiotician Roland Barthes referred to as the spectator and spectrum.  We use the most common form of photography, the portrait, to enshrine our inner selves for our friends, family and loved ones both during and after our lifetime.

What better way to leave behind the truth of our personhood than through the avatar?  The very nature of the avatar allows for a person to wrap themselves into iconic truth through image and object.

Other quotes by Formatting/Patrick that I love:

“Photography rarely makes money, it makes happy” by Patrick Millard

“When I get older, will I still be me?” – Patrick Millard

This quote was posted by someone on his Facebook wall. I think  it is lovely:

“”Captain, my religious belief teaches me to feel as safe in battle as in bed. God has fixed the time for my death. I do not concern myself about that, but to be always ready, no matter when it may overtake me.” He added, after a pause, looking me full in the face: “That is the way all men should live, and then all would be equally brave” -Stonewall Jackson

“Die when I may, I want it said of me by those who knew me best, that I always plucked a thistle and planted a flower where I thought a flower would grow.” ~ Abraham Lincoln

Patrick Millard- Stories
An Interview that Patrick did while he was at the biosphere

RIP my dear friend. We will miss you very much!!! You will always be in our hearts and memories. You will never be forgotten!!!

2 Comments on “In Memory of Formatting Heliosense/Patrick Millard”

  1. he was a dear friend.

  2. Andrea says:

    Gracie,

    Patrick’s death has been absolutely devastating. We studied photography together at GVSU and he became a close friend. I used to log on to Second Life once in a while to visit with him after he moved to Pittsburgh. Would it be possible to purchase a small print of this? We could also work out a trade if you’d like.

    Thanks,
    Andrea


Leave a Reply

